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Freight Electrification 
Pilot

EV Purchasing 
Collaborative

Local EV 
AcceleratorsThe Electrification 

Coalition (EC) is a 

nonpartisan, not-for profit 

organization committed 

to promoting policies and 

actions that facilitate the 

deployment of electric 

vehicles on a mass scale 

in order to combat 

economic, 

environmental, and 

national security dangers 

caused by our 

dependence on oil.

State EV Policy Accelerator



Electrification Coalition
State Policy Accelerator

• Drive deep dive action in priority states: Virginia, Pennsylvania, 

North Carolina, Michigan, Nevada, Georgia, Florida, Illinois, 

Indiana, Ohio, Wisconsin

• Policy blueprints, toolkits, bootcamps, deployment

• Provide rapid response to legislative, regulatory and other 

opportunities in additional states

• Support technical assistance for states in partnership with 

organizations involved in regional and multi-state efforts



ECBC Partners



EV Registrations by State



Overview of State EV Incentives

• Rebates or Grants – 3 states (CA, OR, WI)

• Loans – 2 states (HI, ME)

• Rebate – 11 states (CA, CT DE, MA, 

MD, ME, NJ, NY, OR, PA. VT)

• Sales Tax Exemption – 3 states (WA, NJ & 

DC)

• Assignable Income Tax Credit – 1 state 

(CO)

• Income Tax Credit – (*expired - GA, LA)

Source: Atlas Public Policy



Colorado & Oregon EV Incentives

Colorado Plug In Electric Vehicle Tax Credit

• Applies to purchased, leased, or converted vehicles.

• Expires January 1, 2026.

Oregon Charge Ahead Plug-In Electric Vehicle 

Rebate

• $5,000 rebate for the purchase or lease of a 

new or used PEV for

• Offered to low- and medium-income 

Oregon residents (households with income 

levels that do not exceed 400% of the federal 

poverty line.)

• Charge Ahead Rebate Program

Category 2021-2022 2023-2025

Light-duty PEV $2,500 for purchase 

or conversion; 

$1,500 for lease

$2,000 for 

purchase; $1,500 

for lease

Light-duty electric 

truck

3,500 for purchase 

or conversion; 

$1,750 for lease

$2,800 for 

purchase; $1,750 

for lease

Medium-duty 

electric truck

$5,000 for purchase 

or conversion; 

$2,500 for lease

$4,000 for 

purchase; $2,500 

for lease

Heavy-duty electric 

truck

$10,000 for 

purchase or 

conversion; $5,000 

for lease

$8,000 for 

purchase; $5,000 

for lease

https://www.oregon.gov/deq/aq/programs/Pages/Charge-Ahead-Rebate.aspx


California Vehicle Rebate Programs

• Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate Program – Point of 

Sale:  $750

• Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) – Purchase 

or Lease - $2000 for all electric vehicles; $1000 for 

plug-in hybrids

• Used Battery-Electric Vehicle (BEV) Rebate -

Alameda Municipal Power (AMP) - $1500  



Washington EV Incentives

• 6.5% tax exemption

• Apply to the sale or lease of new or 

used passenger vehicles, light-duty 

trucks, and medium-duty passenger 

AFVs

• Value must be less than $45K for 

new vehicles & $30K for used 

vehicles



Georgia EV Tax Credit

• $5000 for purchase or 

lease

• 2000-2015

• Repealed in 2015



Addressing Equity

Vehicle eligibility:

o MSRP caps

o Used vehicles

Consumer eligibility:

o Income qualifications

Access:

o Point of sale, rebate, exemptions

o Tax liability criteria

o Lease or Purchase



Federal EV Incentives and the Build Back Better Act

Federal EV tax credit (now 36C) – Long term extension

• Shall not exceed 50% of the purchase price of the vehicle, 

• Limited to 1 per taxpayer per taxable year. 

• $4000, plus an additional $3500 based on battery capacity. 

• An additional credit amount of $4500 for domestic assembly +  

$500 if the EV meets domestic content qualifications.

• Income limitations - the credit is reduced by $200 for each 

$1000 by which the lesser of the taxpayer’s modified AGI for 

the taxable year or the preceding taxable year exceeds the 

threshold amount of $500k not $800k filing jointly / $375 not 

$600Khead of household / $250 not $400k other cases;

• MSRP caps: Vans - $80k, SUVs - $80k, pick-up trucks $80k, 

other vehicles $55k. 

• Extended until Dec. 31, 2031

New Used EV credit

• $2000 plus a supplemental credit amount = to 

$2000 if the vehicle is placed in service before Jan. 

1, 2027. Battery capacity restrictions

• Must not exceed 50% of the sale price of the EV

• Must be at least 2 years old and MSRP must not be 

above $25k. 

• Expires Dec. 31, 2031

New commercial EV credit 

• Equal to 30% of the cost of such vehicle. 

• Tax-exempt entities have the option of electing to 

receive direct payments



EV Registration Fees

• Only 1.29% of light-duty vehicles sold are EVS

• Even with rapid EV adoption, EV fees would only generate 

0.3% of state revenue for highway funding 

• Considering 29% of state revenue for highway funding 

comes from state gas taxes, alternate funding mechanisms 

must be considered to meet the gap that will eventually be 

left by fuel taxes
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Thank you!

Anne Blair 
Senior EV Policy Manager
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